RSS

Comfort Food

18 Mar

image

“This is so good no one would even know it’s healthy.” Those were Brett’s words during dinner last night. It was a last minute dinner, so we had our “go-to” zucchini and squash, spinach and raspberry salad, and whatever I could come up with for a main dish. We had purchased chicken earlier and didn’t really know exactly what we would do with it. I decided to try to make some fried chicken tenders, and I am SO glad I did! I took some almond meal and seasonings and went with it!

Ingredients:

Chicken breast (I used three)

almond meal, 1.5 cups (updated 04.05.12)

seasoned salt, about 2 tsp (updated 04.05.12)

italian seasoning, about 2 tsp

black pepper, about 1/2 tsp

garlic powder, about 1/2 tsp

egg

olive oil

Process:

Trim the chicken and cut into strips.

Combine almond meal, italian seasoning, seasoned salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

Beat an eggs and place in a separate bowl.

Coat the chicken in egg to help hold the breading mixture on.

Coat the “egged” chicken in the breading mixture. I use bowls or bags to do this.

Fry in a pot of heated olive oil…approximately 5 minutes. Cut the chicken open just to be sure it’s done!

ENJOY!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in Chicken, Gluten-Free, Paleo, Recipe

 

2 responses to “Comfort Food

  1. thefavaras@gmail.com

    March 22, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Made this tonight. I was almost out of almond flour so I used a combo of almond & coconut. It browned nicely & was very tasty. I was stingy with the seasoning so I will add more season salt or salt next time. Also I had a lot of flour left over so will 1/2 the amount of flour next time since it is so co$tly! I did 8 breasts.

     
    • brittneyeliseb

      March 22, 2012 at 8:44 pm

      Sorry about the flour overage. I had to guesstimate the amount I used.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,027 other followers

