RSS

Cilantro “Chicken” Nuggets

10 Apr

Brett and I ate our first duplicate dinner since going paleo. We ate the Crock-Pot Smoked Beef Brisket again last night and for lunch today! I do think it has been my favorite meal so far!

For tonight’s dinner:  A friend of ours made these and said they were great, so I had to try them! The recipe is from PaleOMG. I did modify it, but you can click the link for the original if you like! She also has a recipe for a dipping sauce, but I didn’t have time to get that done tonight!

Cilantro “Chicken” Nuggets

image

Ingredients
Instructions
  • Mix all of your nugget ingredients together: ground turkey, egg, cilantro, animal fat or oil, ginger, and salt and pepper.
  • Now heat up a large skillet under medium heat and add 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil.
  • Place your coconut flour in a shallow bowl.
  • Make small balls from your nugget mixture, “nugget sized” and place each nugget in the coconut flour (being sure to only lightly dust the nuggets) then place in your skillet.

image

image

  • Use a spatula to slightly flatten out each nugget. It only needs just a little press down.
  • Cook on both sides for 5-7 minutes or until cooked through.
I’ll give you one more shot of the finished product!
image

These were good as is! I’m definitely going to make them again, but I want to play with the idea of adding bacon and garlic powder….OR just making them this way again WITH the dipping sauce.

Today’s workout was called the Filthy Fifty. Here’s the rundown:

50 Box jump, 24 inch box. 50 Jumping pull-ups. 50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood. Walking Lunge, 50 steps. 50 Knees to elbows. 50 Push press, 45 pounds. 50 Back extensions. 50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball. 50 Burpees. 50 Double unders.

You can click the link above for a YouTube video for the workout. I was honestly dreading this workout! I had been so nervous about it today that I really thought I was going to be sick before it even started. However, I LOVED it! Don’t misunderstand my love for ease. It was definitely a tough one, but I felt so accomplished after it was over.

For the box jumps I did 30 jumps and 20 step-ups on a 20″ box. I used an 8 kg kettlebell for the KB swings. I did my knees to elbows on the floor. I used a 33 lb bar for the push press. I did supermans for the back extensions. I counted attempts for the double-unders. I had around 30 actual double-unders and probably 20 attempts. I’ve only done double-unders a couple times and have always counted attempts and singles. Every time I’ve tried previously, I’ve had a max of three per workout. Tonight I was getting in three at a time!!! I was so excited that I even picked up the jump rope to do some more after the workout was over. My time was 43:03, and I was pumped! 500 reps in that time without dying! :)

Brett did the workout as prescribed (above). His time was 33:45. He’s an animal!

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,027 other followers

