RSS

Paleo Chili

28 Oct

With the fall and winter seasons upon us, it is definitely time for some comfort foods. Pre-paleo I wasn’t a fan of beans, so chili wasn’t one of my favorite foods (well, I loved Melissa Howell’s chili, but that’s it!). Now that Brett and I follow a paleo diet, beans aren’t a problem for us! I found this recipe on Pinterest and became determined to make it!

I did make a few changes and the results were awesome! I’ve cooked it almost weekly since finding it!

Ingredients:
2Tbsp cooking oil (I use bacon grease or olive oil)
2lbs. ground turkey (or beef)
2Tbsp chili powder
2Tbsp cumin
1tsp oregano
1tsp allspice
1tsp salt
1 large white onion diced
4oz. tomato paste
28oz. can crushed tomatoes
14 oz can crushed tomatoes
14 oz can diced tomatoes

Directions:

Place the cooking oil, onion and ground meat into a large saucepan. Brown the meat.

image

Leaving all the healthy fat from the meat, add all other ingredients!

Simmer for 1-2 hours (I only wait an hour before devouring mine).

image

I always sliced up an avocado and place in chili!

Enjoy!

 
 

4 responses to “Paleo Chili

  1. Kim

    November 15, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Brittney, you read my mind. I was going to inbox you about this chili recipe. Awesome-can’t wait to try it. Thanks,
    Kim

     
  2. Pingback: Paleo Tacos
  3. Tanya

    September 6, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    Hi, do you think there is anyway to cut down the sodium (canned tomatoes) by maybe just using real tomatoes (crush them by hand)?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,026 other followers

